Ok, Folks: Talk to Me

I want to hear about your favorite stories and how you met them. Was it a tale someone told you about his or her own life (exaggerated or not)? A dance, or opera, or play? A fairy tale, picture book, or bedtime story? A song or a poem? How about a video game? Animation? Graphic novel?

Stories are told in so many ways and forms, and I am fascinated with them all. So share! What are some of your favorites right now? What have I been missing?

Leave me comments! Because I like comments, and because my birthday will be here soon. Comments would be the awesome sort of present.

3 thoughts on “Ok, Folks: Talk to Me

  1. Well, basically l’m a comics guy, so 4 me, the stories that stand out, would be much of the Frank Miller Daredevil run.One of the reasons 4 that, would be the subtext, in which DD’s alter ego, from time 2 time would go 2 confession. The thing that l found interesting is that Miller wouldn’t clearly state that Matt Murdock was a person of “faith”, so one might see him as much a person that was Catholic by ceremony, as opposed 2, by faith.

    Octavia Butler’s Kindred was on of the few (non)-graphic novels that l read. This time travel story, set in the 70’s was at times a difficult read, because of the nature of the story, but ultimately was also a very satisfying read, that has made me want 2 collect her works!

    l could go on, but l tend 2 get “over talky”, like now!! So instead of wearing out my welcome, over here, l think l’ll wear out my welcome, by chatting w/ a few ppl, on skype. 🙂

    take care
    Phil

    • I love Kindred! Thank you for reminding me of that book, because I haven’t thought about it in a long time. It’s so beautifully written, and so engrossing and approachable…

      Frank Miller is a genius. I haven’t read nearly enough of his works. I’ll have to see if our local library has Daredevil. It’s one I’ve wanted to read for a long time and never seem to get around to. My favorite graphic novels (so far) belong to Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series, though my favorite of those is the non-comic The Dream Hunters, illustrated by Yoshitaka Amano.

      And I just remembered this: Sintel, an indie animated short film. It’s about a girl on a quest to find her stolen pet dragon (and there’s a lot more to it than that). I don’t know if you’d love it like I do, but it isn’t a waste of 15 minutes, if you haven’t seen it yet.

      Thanks so much for commenting! You’re certainly not wearing out your welcome. 🙂

  2. “Dragon’s Eye” by Stephen King. The adventure and suspense drew me in and I read that book after than any other King story as a teen. I hope they turn out into a movie as rumored.

    TV series : Dr Who – grew up on the “Tom Baker” 4th doctor era, Space 1999 ( amazing female character in series who “shape changed” into other characters or people), Kojack the night stalker. Just to name a few.

Leave a Reply

