What Gives?

Note: This is a rant. About a couple of things, really. I started it a while ago, when some personal things were going on, and now there is some further bullshit that needs to be called. If everyone could just stop being dumb, that would be awesome. Thanks.

How hard is it to reserve judgment? Seriously — I want to know. I don’t understand how learning even one detail of a person’s life gives anyone else the right to infer anything else about her. Even if it’s someone you’re close to, you don’t know what’s going on in her head. You have no idea what else might be happening in her life. And you have no right to impose your own value judgments on anyone else.

You are not a judge. This is not a courtroom.

I know: we can’t help making judgments. We’re constantly doing it; it’s how we function and navigate the world around us. But to judge someone else’s value as a human being? None of us have that right.

I judge people. I admit it! But unless their actions or attitudes hurt someone else, I try to keep it to myself.

Is it so hard to just accept what is? To not look further to assign some subjective value to another person’s life? I just don’t get it.

Also? Know that other people’s lives do not revolve around you. Understand and accept that, and we’ll all be better off.

Leave a Reply

